Find the Minnesota DMV Office Closest to You

Minnesota DMV hours, appointments, locations, phone numbers, holidays, and services. Find the Minnesota DMV office near me. Currently Minnesota has 180 working locations.

DMV Locations by County

Introduction: What is DVS?

DVS is the abbreviation for Driver and Vehicle Services. It is a state agency that handles driver licensing, vehicle registration, and vehicle titling.

The DVS provides many services to the public in order to meet their needs. It offers driver education courses, driver licensing, vehicle registration and titling services, as well as vehicle inspections.

The DVS also provides information on road conditions and traffic updates.

How to Get Your License in Minnesota

The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) offers a variety of licenses and identification cards to Minnesota residents.

In order to get your driver’s license, you must be at least 18 years old, pass a vision test and a written knowledge test about driving rules and traffic signs. You also need to pay the required fee.

There are two ways to renew your driver’s license: online or in person at a DPS office. If you choose to renew online, you will need your renewal notice or your last renewal date. If you choose to renew in person, you will need proof of identity, Social Security number and 2 documents that prove residency in MN.

How to Save Money on Your MN Driver’s License Renewal Fees

The Department of Public Safety (DPS) has announced a new fee schedule for driver’s licenses in Minnesota. The new fee schedule will go into effect on July 1, 2022.

The new fee schedule will be based on the age of the licensee and whether or not they have a valid Social Security number. Here is a breakdown of what the fees will be:

  • $25 for 16-year-olds and older who do not have a Social Security card
  • $30 for 16-year-olds and older with a Social Security card
  • $30 for 18 year olds with or without Social Security cards
  • $35 for 19 year olds with or without Social Security cards
  • $40 for 20 year olds with or without Social Security cards

What are the Different Types of Driver’s Licenses in Minnesota?

The Minnesota DVS provides a driver license for every type of driver. There are six different types of licenses, some with more restrictions than others.

  • Class D: This is the most common license in Minnesota and is available to anyone who meets the required age, time as a licensed driver, and other requirements.
  • Class A: This license is for drivers who need to transport hazardous materials or carry more than 16 passengers.
  • Class B: This license is for drivers who may need to drive large passenger vehicles such as buses or trucks.
  • Class C: This license is for drivers who only drive vehicles that don’t require a CDL but require special equipment such as tow trucks or farm vehicles.
  • Class M: This license is for drivers under 18 years old that are driving motorcycles.

Is it Possible to Hide or Void a MN Driver’s License?

The MN Department of Public Safety (DPS) does not offer a way to void a driver’s license. They do offer a way to reduce points on your driving record by completing the Driver Improvement Program.

To hide or void your MN driver’s license, you would need to contact the Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT).