Find the Maryland DMV Office Closest to You

Maryland DMV hours, appointments, locations, phone numbers, holidays, and services. Find the Maryland DMV office near me. Currently Maryland has 32 working locations.

DMV Locations by County

What is the Maryland Driver’s License?

The Maryland Driver’s License is a credential that allows the holder to operate motor vehicles on public roads. The license is issued by the Motor Vehicle Administration and it can be obtained in person.

It is also possible to apply for one online, but this option is only available for drivers who are at least 18 years of age.

Maryland Drivers License Requirements

To get a driver’s license in Maryland, you must be at least 16 years old. You must also pass a written exam, vision exam, and driving test to get your driver’s license.

You can take the written exam at any time before you are 18 years old. The vision exam is given only when you go to the MVA office to apply for your driver’s license. You will need to bring your completed Driver’s License Application form with you when you go for the vision exam. The driving test is given only after you have passed the written and vision exams.

How Do I Get a Maryland Driver’s License?

Maryland law requires that all drivers under the age of 18 must hold a provisional license for at least six months before they are eligible to get their first driver’s license.

You will need to visit your local MVA office and bring with you the following:

  • Your current learner’s permit or provisional license
  • Proof of identity (i.e. U.S. passport, birth certificate, Maryland photo ID)
  • Proof of Social Security Number (i.e. Social Security card, W2)
  • Proof of residency (i.e., utility bill, lease agreement)

How to Pass Your Driving Test in Maryland and Get Your MD Drivers License on the First Try!

The Maryland DMV requires that you pass a driving test to get your MD drivers license on the first try.

The Maryland DMV requires that you pass a driving test in order to get your MD drivers license on the first try. Luckily, there are some easy ways to get prepared for the test and we’re going to go over them now.

We’ll start with what you need to have before you go in for the exam. You will need a valid learner’s permit, proof of insurance, and evidence of car registration if applicable.

Next we’ll talk about how long it takes for the examiners to grade your driving test and how often they give out retakes. If you don’t pass, then they will issue a retake notice that is good for six months from the date.