Being a driver is a responsible thing, and people need to take care of many things. One of the things people should often do is checking their driver’s license status. Fortunately, in 21st century, doing that is possible in three different ways. People can do that online, by mail, and in-person. After analyzing each method, you will easily determine which one meets you expectations and requirements the most.
- 1. Online
- 2. In-Person Visit
- 3. By Mail
- 4. By Phone
- 5. By Email
- 6. How do I get information about a person’s driver’s license record or driver history?
- 7. How do I get information about a particular motor vehicle or license plate?
- 8. Fees
- 9. Acceptable Forms of Payment
- 10. Point system
- 11. License Suspension and Restoration
First, visit the online service. You should know that there will be no charges for additional fees if you use this online service. PennDOT will charge you $11 per one record request. When you pay for the request, you can see and save your record.
After you complete the Driver’s License/Photo ID renewal online, within a period of 14 days, you will get a camera card in the mail. You can use the printed receipt as your temporary driving document.
There is an option to check your driving license status in any Driver’s License center. Find your local center by visiting The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation website. You will find the page called “Driver and Vehicle Services” with a database of locations. By typing either zip code, country, or the name of the state, you will find the local center. You can use the Drivers License Center locations and hours of operation (PDF) document.
If you want to send a request by mail, you should follow some instructions. First, when you are fulfilling the Form DL-503, Request for Driver Information, you need to pay attention to Section A and C of the document, because those are the ones that you will send. You can find the form online, by visiting the “Driver and Vehicle Services” page at the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation website.
When you complete the document, mail it to the following address: Bureau of Driver Licensing, Driver Record Services, P.O. BOX 68695, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17106-8695. You can pay with a check or money order. There is a special mail address for people who want to expedite the request: Bureau of Driver Services, Driver Record Services, 1101 S. Front Street, 3rd Floor, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17104-2516.
For checking your driver’s license status by phone, call the DVS at (800) 932-4600 between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. In case you are calling from outside the state, dial the number (717) 412-5300. The two things that you should prepare are your name and your Pennsylvania driver’s license number.
Another option is to email DVS through the online contact form. The information you should provide is your address, last four digits of your Social Security number, birth date, and some additional personal details.
How do I get information about a person’s driver’s license record or driver history?
Any other personal license information on PennDOT can not be released according to the RTKL. Driver license information is available only according to 75 Pa. C.S. § 6114 and 67 Pa. Code § 95.2(c). See also 65 P.S. § 67.708 (b)(6). Information is protected by the federal Driver’s Privacy Protection Act, 18 U.S.C. §2721-2725.
However, under certain circumstances, you can get that driver’s information. Find the Request for Driver Information Form DL-503 on PennDOT’s Driver and Vehicle Services website. You should expect to pay a certain fee. Follow the stated requirements in order to obtain the information.
How do I get information about a particular motor vehicle or license plate?
You should know that there is no option to check and see motor vehicle records on PennDOT under the RTKL. Vehicle record information is available only under 75 Pa. C.S. § 6114 and 67 Pa. Code § 95.2(c). See also 65 P.S. § 67.708 (b)(6). Information is also protected by the federal Driver’s Privacy Protection Act, 18 U.S.C. §2721-2725.
However, under some circumstances, you can get motor vehicle information. Visit the PennDOT’s Driver and Vehicle Services website and complete the Request for Vehicle Information Form DL-135.
Below you will see fees for all possible requests for driver history information.
- Basic Information: $11.00
- 3-Year Driver Record: $11.00
- 10-Year Driver Record: $11.00
- Full Driver History: $11.00
- Certified Driver Record: $36.00
- Copy of Document from File (Microfilm): $11.00
- Certified Copy of Document from File: $36.00
Acceptable Forms of Payment
You should know that only two payable options are available at PennDOT Driver License Center. Those two options are checks and money orders. In case you are visiting the Riverfront Office Center location in Harrisburg, you can pay with cash, check, and money orders.
Don’t forget to make checks or money orders payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Credit cards that are accepted using online services are credit and debit cards such as Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover. Also, if you are sending a request by mail, you should know that you must have a check or money order accompanying them.
Pennsylvania has a driving point system. In other words, if the person makes some driving violation, he/she gets points on a driving record. The main purpose of this procedure is to ensure safe driving among people. When the person collects more than 6 points, PennDOT begins to take corrective actions.
Under the Age of 18
If the person who is under the age of 18 collects 6 or more points or is convicted of driving 26 miles per hour, she/he will be suspended. The first suspension will last 90 days. Any additional incidents will result in a suspension of 120 days.
First Accumulation of 6 Points
When the person collects 6 points for the first time, he/she will get a written notice to take a special written test about points. The examination includes Knowledge of Safe Driving Practices, Knowledge of Departmental Sanctions, and Knowledge of Related Safety Issues.
Second Accumulation of 6 Points
When the person collects 6 points for a second time, he/she will need to go on a Departmental Hearing. After the hearing and checking the driving record, the Department will make the decision. Possible outcomes are a 15 Day License Suspension, an Order for the Driver to Take a Special On-Road Driver’s Examination, or there would be no action.
Third or More Accumulation of 6 Points
When the person collects 6 points for the third time, the driver must attend a Departmental hearing. After checking the driving record, the Department can order a 30-day license suspension.
When the person has a conviction for speeding 31 miles per hour, he/she will go on a Departmental Hearing. The person can get a 15 Day License Suspension.
Accumulation of 11 Points or More
After collecting 11 or more points, the license will automatically be suspended.
- First Suspension – 5 days per point
- Second Suspension – 10 days per point
- Third Suspension – 15 days per point
- Subsequent Suspensions – One year
Point Removal for Safe Driving
After 12 months, from the person’s driving record 3 points can be removed. That will happen if the person did not commit any violation in that period.
License Suspension and Restoration
After getting the license suspension, the person can appeal the suspension to the Court of Common Pleas. The appeal must be made WITHIN 30 DAYS AFTER the mailing date of the notice. The person needs to return documents such as license, and camera cards to the Bureau of Driver Licensing.