Can I check my driver’s license status online in Louisiana? Yes, you can.
Visit the online service and get a digital copy of your driving record. You should know that the online service allows you to access and see any reinstatement issues or flags that would prevent a driver’s license or vehicle registration transaction from being processed. However, the information presented on this online service is not an official driving record and cannot be used by third parties or insurance companies to determine a driver’s status.
If you need specifically Official Driving Records, visit Louisiana Official Driving Records.
The service is free of charge and you will need to provide the following details: Driver’s License Number and Last 4 of your Social Security Number.
Disclaimer: If you have requested a document that contains personal information that is prohibited, you should know the following:
By the US Code, Title 18, #2721 through #2725 and Section 350 of Public Law 106-69 which amended the Federal Driver Privacy Protection Act OLA File No. 1999-1126.
Procurement for Unlawful Purpose
It is forbidden for any person to reveal and use personal information from an individual’s record.
Criminal and/or Penalties
The person can get a minimum of $2500.00 costs if release the personal information from the record.
The individual can bring a civil action in a United States district court if the person reveals the personal information from the record of that individual because the information is protected under the Federal Driver Privacy Protection Act.
Resale and Re-disclosure
There is one thing that every person who is obtaining a Motor Vehicle record information for any permitted use that resells and re-discloses the information must know. That person has to maintain the record of any entity or person that received the information as well as the permitted use for which it was obtained for a period shorter than 5 years. You will manage to get those records in the Office of Motor Vehicles. However, you will have to do send the request before that.
Checking In Person
For requesting a copy of your driving record, you can visit your nearest Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) location. You should be prepared to spend some time waiting in line because these OMV are always crowded. First, you should complete the Official Driving Record (ODR) Request Form and then print it. This form and service of printing are available at the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections. After you finish this procedure, you can visit the Louisiana OMV location.
Checking By Mail
Complete the Requested Form and submit a check or money order to pay the processing fee. You can send the form and money to the following address: Office of Motor Vehicles, Attention: ODR, P.O. Box 64886, Baton Rouge, LA 70896.
Requesting driving records additionally comes with a processing fee that needs to be paid. After the fee is paid, you can get your record immediately. For requesting a copy of the record In-Person, or By Mail, you can expect to pay a $15 fee. The payment options are cash, checks, money order, or credit/debit card in person. However, for requesting a copy of the record Online, you can only have 2 payment options: a credit or debit card. The fee for digital copies is $15, plus a $2 e-commerce fee.
Louisiana DMV Point System
Louisiana does not have a state-based point system, but OMV still keeps tracking every person’s license status and the number of traffic offenses that the person committed. If the person collects too many traffic offenses, that person can get a suspension, high fees to pay, or needs to take a course.
Louisiana License Suspensions
Department of Public Safety and Corrections (DPS) Office of Motor Vehicle (OMV) can suspend your license for the following offenses: DWI/DUI sentences and refusing to submit a blood or breath test, for felonies involving a vehicle, for reckless driving, and texting while you drive.
Appealing Louisiana License Suspension
The person can request a hearing within 30 days for the conviction and violation that he/she committed. If you go In-Person, visit the local DMV office. If you want to send a request by mail, send it to the following address: Office of Motor Vehicles, P.O. Box 64886, Baton Rouge, LA 70896.
Reinstatement of Louisiana Driver’s License
If you want to reinstate the driver’s license, you need to complete the necessary documents. These include court requirements, compliance documents, and an SR22 form from the insurance company. Submit these documents to the OMV and expect to pay a $100-$300 fee. You can send your documents by mail, or you can visit local OMV In-Person. Mail address: Office of Motor Vehicles, P.O. Box 64886, Baton Rouge, LA 70896.
Louisiana Traffic Violation System
Louisiana is involved with the Problem Driver Pointer System (PDPS). That PDPS is a part of the National Driver Register (NDR) and it has all the information about every driver’s license in the state. This information includes a list of suspensions and revocations, previous cancellations, a list of traffic offenses, name, date of birth, gender, and driver’s license number. Louisiana can use this information to determine whether a person should receive a driver’s license.