If you live in the state of Illinois, it’s important to be up-to-date on the status of your driver’s license.
This blog post will provide you with all the information you need to know. Keep reading to the end to find out everything you need to know about Illinois driver’s licenses.
- 1. Checking Online
- 2. Check Status by Mail
- 3. In Person
- 4. How Can I Check My Driving Licence Status by SMS?
- 5. The SAFE-T Act (HB 3653)
- 6. Temporary Facility Closures
- 7. How to Purchase Another Person’s Driving Record
- 8. How to Read Driving Record
- 9. Driving Record Guidelines
- 10. How to Print your Driving Record Abstract
- 11. Fees
- 12. How to Renew Your Driver’s License Online as a Safe Driver
- 13. Change of Address on Driver’s License
- 14. How to Obtain “Veteran” designation on your Driver’s License
- 15. REAL ID
If you decide to complete the process online, you primarily need to visit ilsos.gov.
Two things that you will need are the Drivers License/State ID or CLP Number and Date of Issuance.
By using the Driving Record Abstract system you can easily get your driving record. The only requirement for using this system is to have a valid credit or debit card, as well as a printer that can print PDF documents.
The cost of getting your records will include $12 plus a payment processor fee.
The records are certified, so there is no difference between these and the ones you would get by the postal mail or in-person at the Driving Service facility.
Check Status by Mail
The necessary form that you need to complete is the Abstract Request Form. After completing it, you can postal mail it to the Secretary of State, Driver Analysis Section, 2701 S. Dirksen Pkwy., Springfield, IL 62723.
Do not forget to fulfill in your name, date of birth, sex, and Illinois driver’s license number along in the necessary section. Also, the fee will be charged $12, and you can pay by check or money order. The process will last for 10 working days.
Visit a Driver Services facility and complete the Abstract Request Form. After paying the $12 fee, you will immediately get your driving record. A payment processor fee of $1 will be charged for credit/debit cards.
For the person who is out of the state and can not finish the procedure by themselves, there is an option for any family member to get the records for them. Family members included here are parent/legal guardian, brother, sister, spouse, grandparent, child, or grandchild. The only request is to submit the notarized written permission of that person who requires the record. The fee for copies of the driving record in that case will be $12.
How Can I Check My Driving Licence Status by SMS?
Short Unstructured Supplementary Service Data (USSD) SMS The fourth and last technique of determining whether or not your driving license is authentic is to send a short code SMS to the number on your license. In return for texting your ID number to 22846, you will receive a confirmation message indicating whether or not your driving license is a fake and legitimate.
The SAFE-T Act (HB 3653)
On Feburary 22, 2021 the State of Illinois signed the SAFE-T Act (HB 3653).
According to this Act your Illinois driver’s license can no longer be suspended or “held” for unpaid tickets (red light camera, speed camera, traffic) or abandoned vehicle fees as of July 1, 2021.
Temporary Facility Closures
Some of the locations are closed. Visit the Facility Finder to find any other facility, if possible the nearest location.
If the person is requesting copies of the driving record for the minor child (both parents and legal guardians), it is necessary to submit notarized written permission from that person noted on the request form.
Also, any family member can request a copy of the driving record for an adult (age 18 or older) if that family member submit notarized written permission from the person listed on the requested form.
How to Purchase Another Person’s Driving Record
For getting another person’s driving record, visit a Driver Services facility and complete the Abstract Request Form. The fee will cost $12 and you can pay by check or money order. There is also a payment processor fee of $1. Both credit and debit cards are allowed. You will receive the copy by mail within 11 to 15 days.
Before everything, you need to Complete the Abstract Request Form. After you do that, you need to postal mail it to the Secretary of State, Driver Analysis Section, 2701 S. Dirksen Pkwy., Springfield, IL 62723. It is necessary to fulfill the full name of the individual, date of birth, sex, and Illinois driver’s license number. The expenses for that process are going to $12. After 10 days, the process is going to be finished.
You should know that federal and state law forbids the Secretary of State’s office to reveal any personally identifying information of that individual. That means you will not receive that person’s address or any other information. You can get information such as convictions, withdrawals, and crash information. However, before you get the public information about an individual, that person will get mail with the requestor’s name and date of the request.The individual gets 10 days’ notice of your request.
In the case that another state insists on written proof of your driving status in Illinois, you can request a certified copy of your driving record for the licensing authorities in that state. Call the Secretary of State Abstract Information Unit Mon. – Fri. from 8 a.m. until 4 p.m. at 217-782-2720 and find more about this. They are closed on state holidays.
How to Read Driving Record
The entire process of reading a driving record is actually quite easy. In the top portion, you will manage to see all identification information you delivered to the facilities. That means you will find your address, driver’s license number, and name. Don’t forget to keep the postal address updated. In that way, you can be sure you will receive all the additional information by postal mail. If you move to live to another address, you have 10 days to change that.
To make things clear to you, let’s see together which pieces of information you will find on the document. In the upper right corner, you will see continuous license date, issue date, and birthdate. Across the Upper Page, there will be information such as gender, height, weight, etc. Next to those five fields where you will find personal information, there are eight fields that are dedicated to different legal requirements. For instance, you will find Commercial Driver’s License, Type of License, Expiration Date column, etc.
Driving Record Guidelines
There are five things we would like to highlight here:
- You can only get your Driving Record Abstract.
- Driving records in the Illinois Secretary of State are certified.
- Visit Driver Record Abstracts and find more information.
- You can find here How to Read A Driving Record
- FAQs about purchasing your Driving Record Abstract (where you will eventually find some answers)
How to Print your Driving Record Abstract
Prepare your Driver’s License to enter the information exactly as it is printed on your DL. You need to have a printer that can print PDF documents. The next thing you should do is to download the latest version of Adobe Reader (DC). Mac OS and Windows versions of the free Adobe Reader (DC) are available from Adobe at the http://get.adobe.com/reader/. After the purchasing date, you can print your Reprint Driving Record Abstract within 5 days.
Payment procedures can be completed by electronic payment providers like Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express. A payment processor fee will be charged for all transactions.
Current reinstatement fees for the following driver’s license suspensions and revocations:
- Discretionary Suspension (Traffic Related Suspension) — $70 fee for each Suspension
- Failure to Appear in Court Suspension (Court Related Suspension) — $70 fee for each Suspension
- Family Responsibility (DHFS or Court Ordered Child Support Suspension) — $70 fee for each Suspension
- Field Sobriety Suspension — (First Offense) — $250 fee owed for each Suspension
- Field Sobriety Suspension — (Multiple Offense) — $500 fee owed for each subsequent Suspension
- Mandatory Insurance Conviction Driver’s License Suspension — $100 fee for each Suspension. Please note that this reinstatement fee is for your driver’s license suspension. You may also owe a mandatory insurance fee for your license plate suspension. You will be required to contact Vehicle Services to pay that fee. Please refer to your correspondence from Vehicle Services for instructions.
- Parking/Tollway/Automated Traffic Suspension (Municipality/Tollway Authority Violation Suspension) — $70 fee for each Suspension
- Revocations — $500 fee for each Revocation — Payments of this Reinstatement fee can only be processed if we have received a “reinstatement recommendation” from our Administrative Hearing Department and this office has received your SR22 Insurance certificate or out of state insurance waiver.
- Safety Responsibility (Uninsured Accident Administrative Suspension) — $70 fee for each Suspension
- Solicitation of Towing Suspension — $100 fee for each Suspension
- Statutory Summary Suspension — (DUI Related/Implied Consent First Offense) — $250 fee for the first Suspension
- Statutory Summary Suspension — (DUI Related Multiple Offenses) — $500 fee for each subsequent Suspension
- Unsatisfied Judgment (Uninsured Accident Court Ordered Suspension) — $70 fee for each Suspension
- Zero Tolerance Suspension — (Alcohol Related for Individuals under 21 years of age) — $70 fee for each Suspension
How to Renew Your Driver’s License Online as a Safe Driver
- You need to have a renewal form, with a renewal authorization number.
- If your address has changed, you can see the information below in the next paragraph.
- You will need a valid Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express credit card.
- There is also a payment processor fee that will be charged to all credit card transactions. You can not pay the processor fee with e-checks.
- You will get your renewed driver’s license at your address within 15 working days. In case your license is returned by the postal service, you need to visit a Secretary of State facility and present acceptable identification documents to verify your residence address.
Change of Address on Driver’s License
In case you change the address since you received the renewal notice, you need to complete an online address change, and then you can return to the “Safe Driver Renewal” page. If you are completing address changing online, you need to provide acceptable identification to verify your new address at your next Secretary of State facility visit. Your license will be delivered within 15 working days. In the case your license has been returned by the postal service, you should visit a Secretary of State facility and present acceptable identification documents to verify your residence address.
The Safe Driver Renewal application confirms a couple of things. First of all, it serves as a proof that you have read the renewal application letter. Despite that, it also confirms that you are eligible to lawfully apply for a driver’s license. Finally, it is evidence that proves all the information you delivered are correct.
How to Obtain “Veteran” designation on your Driver’s License
If the person is an honorably discharged United States veteran and wants to have that label on the DL/ID, the procedure is very simple.
That person needs to visit an Illinois Department of Veterans Affairs (IDVA) service office and have DD-214 or other qualifying documentation stamped/certified. After visiting IDVA, you can go to the Secretary of State facility and apply to get the VETERAN designation on your DL/ID. The renewal credential will also have the Veteran designation, after the one that expired.
If the person wants to obtain a REAL ID-compliant driver’s license (DL) or ID card, it is necessary to visit a Secretary of State facility to make the initial application. The Safe Driver online renewal option cannot be issued as a REAL ID-compliant credential. You can visit the REAL ID and find all the information about the requirements for purchasing a REAL ID. For questions about Safe Driver Renewal, you can call 217-782-6212.