Find the Georgia DMV Office Closest to You

Georgia DMV hours, appointments, locations, phone numbers, holidays, and services. Find the Georgia DMV office near me. Currently Georgia has 236 working locations.

DMV Locations by County

Georgia Department of Driver Services

The motor vehicle services part of the Georgia Department of Driver Services is responsible for registering your vehicle, titling it, and providing other services. The other part is the state government agency in charge of issuing and renewing driver’s licenses.

To apply for license plates in Georgia, you can visit your nearest tag office. You’ll also find that they do vehicle registration there too, with services like title transfers and registrations taking place at Motor Vehicle Services in addition to vehicle inspections, driving tests, and license plate issuance. The Georgia Department of Driver Services has recently removed the acceptance of paper copies for proof of insurance. The department now accepts only electronic copies through the Georgia Electronic Information System. All motor vehicle owners are required to have liability insurance before operating their vehicles, or they will face fines and penalties.

Want to update your driver’s license, renew an expired one, or replace a lost one? You can do that at any Driver Services location! For those of you looking to take a CDL exam, request a driving history report, or take a road test – you can do that here too.

Anyone who is at least 16 years old can apply for a provisional Class D license. To be eligible for the permit, applicants must not have had any major driving violations over the last year, they are required to complete an additional 40 hours of driving practice, and 10 of those hours need to be at night. To comply with the Joshua Law, pass the vision and road skills tests, and get a parent or guardian to sign your application. For applicants over the age of 18, it is important to pass the vision test, knowledge test, and road skills test. Additionally, anyone applying for a Montana instant license or ID card must bring in proof of their identification, residency, and Social Security Number. The fee for the instant ID is $8.