Find the Alabama DMV Office Closest to You

Alabama DMV hours, appointments, locations, phone numbers, holidays, and services. Find the Alabama DMV office near me. Currently Alabama has 134 working locations.

DMV Locations by County

Alabama DMV

The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency Department of Public Safety is a law enforcement agency in Alabama. It is the primary law enforcement agency for the state and has jurisdiction throughout the state.

The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency Department of Public Safety was established in 1935 as the State Bureau of Investigation. The name was changed to the Alabama Department of Public Safety in 1974. The department is responsible for enforcing laws and investigating crimes statewide, as well as providing other services such as driver’s licensing, vehicle registration, and fingerprinting services.

The Alabama Motor Vehicle Division is a division of the Alabama Department of Revenue. The Alabama Motor Vehicle Division was created in 1939 by an act of the state legislature. The division’s responsibilities were expanded in 1943 to include the registration and titling of all types of vehicles, not just those powered by gasoline or diesel fuel. In 1955, the division began issuing driver licenses as well as identification cards. In 1974, the responsibility for enforcing traffic laws was transferred to the division from local law enforcement agencies.It is responsible for registering and titling motor vehicles, issuing driver licenses and identification cards, and enforcing traffic laws.

Services offered by Alabama DPS offices:

  • Driver’s licenses
  • Vehicle registration
  • Motorcycle license plates
  • Commercial driver’s license (CDL)

To apply for a driver’s license in Alabama, you must bring two documents that prove your identity and one document must have a photo. Two of the documents should also prove who you are with. The other necessary items to provide when applying for a driver’s license in Alabama is to provide your Social Security card and pay a fee. In Alabama, drivers who are 15 years old can apply for a learner’s permit as long as they have the required documents, including a certified birth certificate and proof of school enrollment. The state also participates in the GDL program which has three stages: Learner’s Permit, Intermediate License and Full License.