There are two different things that drivers in Arizona need to know. First, the person needs to have a permissible use to request and receive MVD records. That is a requirement that DPPA has. The personal information that the MVD record contains are – name, address, social security number, image, and medical information.
There are two types of driving records – certified that will cost you $5, and uncertified that will cost you $3. Both of them contain the same information, but only a certified one is accepted as evidence in a court of law. Uncertified driver’s record is the most frequently requested type if you do not need a record for legal purposes.
By visiting the online service and print a copy of your record, you will manage to complete the process online.
Your driving record will help you to check your Arizona driver’s license status. The fee for the online method is $3. The information Driver License Motor Vehicle Record will show are:
- license number,
- and revocations.
On the other hand, it won’t show your social media number (unless it is current/previous Customer/Driver License Number, medical information for CDL holders).
You need to complete the Motor Vehicle Record Request form. The fee for the uncertified record will be $3 and the driving record will be valid for three years. In contrast, the certified record will be legit for five years and the fee is $5.
Drivers should go to the MVD or authorized third-party office. The signature on the form needs to be notarized or witnessed by an MVD agent.
Suspension & Revocation
There is a difference between suspension and revocation in Arizona.The suspension means that you can’t drive for a certain period. However, there is an option to get your license back. Revocation, on the other hand, means that your license is canceled. You must submit to an investigation before getting another one.
Types of Suspension & Revocation
Excessive Moving Violations
You will get a suspension based on a point system.
For 8 or more points in 12 months, the license will be suspended. In that case, you will need to attend an AZ Traffic Survival School (TSS). Despite that, you will also lose 8 points for violations such as DUI and Reckless Driving.
Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol/Drugs
The length of the suspension will depend on the violation and whether it is a first or repeat offense. If you refuse to take this test, your license will be suspended.
Driving with a Suspended License or No License
Driving with a suspended license will lead to an increase in the length of the suspension, and you can go to prison for up to 5 years.
Driving without Insurance
All motor vehicles need to be properly insured in Arizona.
Other Driving-Related Violations
These include: reckless driving, fault in a fatal accident if you abandon your vehicle on a public highway.
Physical or Psychological Disqualification
If the re-examination finds that a person is physically or psychologically unable to drive safely.
Non-Driving Reasons for License suspension
These include not responding to a Motor Vehicle Commission notice, not appearing in court, failing to pay traffic tickets, fines, or surcharges, and not paying child support.
What you should do if your driver’s license is suspended?
There are two things drivers should do when their driver’s license is suspended.
- Surrender your license to the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division, if the court did not take it away already. Mail it to the: Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division, PO Box 2100, Phoenix AZ 85001-2100
- Do not drive in that period
When your suspension ends, you will receive a Notice of Restoration, with instructions on how to restore your license.
How to Reinstate Your Driver’s License?
First, you will receive a Notice of Restoration from the MVD. You will need to go to the local Arizona DMV office and complete the Form SR22. You will have to pay the reinstatement fee at an Arizona DMV office online or by email.
To do that online, you need to go to the ADOT website. It is essential to provide your driver’s license number and date of birth. After you do that, you will get the driver’s license in your mail. However, if you want to do that by mail, you will need to send it to the
Arizona Department of Transportation,
Motor Vehicle Division,
P.O. Box 2100 MD 555M,
Phoenix, AZ 85001.
First, you will be on a Mandatory Probation Period of 1 year. If you have any violation in that period, your license will be suspended.